American Coaster Enthusiasts (ACE) recognizes The Racer at Kings Island as an ACE roller coaster landmark, a designation reserved for rides of historical significance.
Kings Island opened on April 29, 1972, replacing Cincinnati’s beloved Coney Island which had endured periodic flooding during its 85-year existence on the Ohio River. For the new park, the signature attraction was The Racer, an 88-foot high twin-tracked wooden roller coaster whose design was inspired by the Coney Island Shooting Star (1947-1971). Engineered by John C. Allen and built by James L. Martz, both of the celebrated Philadelphia Toboggan Company. Its two tracks totaled 6,830 feet in length, with an initial drop of 88-feet, 2-inches. Constructed at a cost of $1.2 million by park contractors, modified versions of the ride were eventually built at two other parks.
In addition to being considered an important part of the coaster renaissance of the 1970s, The Racer was the site of several world record riding attempts and might be best remembered in a television episode of the Brady Bunch. On May 18, 1982, it became the first racing coaster to ever run trains backwards on one of its tracks.
Highly rated among riders of all ages for its classic ride experience, The Racer remains an integral part of Kings Island’s outstanding collection of roller coasters.
Presented by American Coaster Enthusiasts
During its 30th annual convention – Coaster Con XXX
June 18, 2007