American Coaster Enthusiasts (ACE) recognizes Arnolds Park’s Legend as an ACE Roller Coaster Landmark, a designation reserved for rides of historical significance.
Opened in 1927 and originally named Giant Dips and later Giant Coaster the 63 foot tall, 2,000 foot wooden coaster was engineered by master designer John A. Miller (1874-1941) and is one of only 18 remaining examples of his work worldwide.
In late 1987 the ride appeared lost with the closure of Arnolds Park (then Dickinson County Amusement Park). Fortunately, the efforts of local citizens and preservationists helped reopen the park in 1989, when John F. Pierce assisted in the rebuilding of the coaster. In the mid-1990’s it received both its name, as well as a new Philadelphia Toboggan Coasters train.
Only one of handful of pre-depression coasters in the world, Legend features a unique circular layout that includes a curving first drop with wonderful views of the lake, the original classic Miller Tipsy House over the station, and the now famous “POINT OF NO RETURN” sign at the top of the lift hill. There is no doubt that its existence is a credit to the citizens of Northwest Iowa, who have kept this gem preserved for future generations to enjoy.
Presented by the American Coaster Enthusiasts