American Coaster Enthusiasts recognizes The Beast as an ACE Roller Coaster Landmark, a designation reserved for rides of historical significance.
Officially opened on April 14, 1979, as the world’s tallest, longest, and fastest wooden track roller coaster, the Kings Island engineering department began planning the new attraction in 1977, led by resident engineer Al Collins and assisted by Jeffrey Gramke, famed coaster designer John C. Allen (1907-1979) acted as consultant, providing the engineering formulas for design. The extensive project was constructed under the direction of Charles R. Dinn, while engineer Curtis D. Summers (1930-1998) assisted with the support structure of the helix.
Built in the middle of a wooded setting, with only its lift hills visible from the park, The Beast features Philadelphia Toboggan Company trains that travel along a world record 7,359 feet of mostly ground-hugging track, offering an exciting runaway ride experience, particularly at night. With a record-breaking first drop of 135-feet into a 117-foot-long tunnel the ride encompasses 35 acres, multiple tunnels and a final drop of 141 feet, six inches into a covered double helix.
Millions of riders have braved this unique three-minute, forty-second ride, making it one of the most notable attractions in the history of the American amusement park industry. The Beast remains an integral part of Paramount’s Kings Island’s impressive collection of roller coasters.
Presented by the American Coaster Enthusiasts
During the Beast’s Twenty-fifth Anniversary Season